Freestyle, Side A + Juris Live in LA

23 Oct

I was so stoked to learn that we would have a chance to watch Side A perform in LA.  I’ve always been a huge fan of theirs and I grew up watching them on TV.  Karl’s cousin, Ned Esguerra, happens to be Side A’s bass player and they haven’t seen each other in years so this was also their mini-reunion.  The concert was held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.  The doors opened at 7pm and the show started at 8pm.  The place was packed with hundreds of Filipinos, I felt like I was back home.

I thought it was only Side A who was going to be performing but OMG, Freestyle and Juris were there too.  What a treat!  I have to admit tears started rolling down my face when I heard all of their original compositions.  I was such a mess. Hahaha.  It was an incredibly memorable night and it made me realize how I much miss home. We went up to the VIP lounge after the show where we grabbed a plate of pancit and some chicken.  All of the performers were on a tight curfew because they had to drive to San Francisco afterwards for their Saturday gig.  Karl and I fell in line to get fan pics taken but as we got closer they announced that there were only two minutes left and that’s when it got chaotic.  Good thing Ned was able to squeeze me in for a pic with Jinky and Juris.

Outside the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

Waiting for the show to begin. So excited!

We didn't get the best seats but it was still a great view.

Jinky wows the crowd.

Juris takes center stage.

We thought they were finished but no! Here's their encore performance of "Forevermore." You have to pardon my embarrassing singing voice in the background. I couldn't help it! This is one of my favorite songs in the whole wide world.

We thought they were gonna have a press conference or something, but they were just there for a photo op with the fans!

Saw our friend photographer Alex Pascual and he took this picture of us.

Free Filipino food.

Cousins reunited.

Jinky and her family.

Me with Jinky. She was so entertaining to watch.

Me with Juris. I didn't that know she's no longer with M.Y.M.P. She announced her solo career tonight.

Thank you to Ned for inviting us and hooking us up with the fan pics. We really enjoyed the show.

Leave a Reply

