The Getty Villa

27 Sep

What a beautiful day to relax, explore and enjoy the California sunshine!  The joy was even doubled with the warm feeling of a well-deserved break for both of us–Karl has been scoring a feature film non-stop for almost two weeks now and I’ve been experiencing some challenges at work trying to launch new products with the skin care team–which is why today felt incredibly rewarding.


After visiting the Getty Center two years ago, I’ve been wanting to discover what the Getty Villa had to offer.  

A glimpse of the Pacific Ocean.

Quite a fancy bottle for sparkling water.  Just some sugar and lemon and it’ll taste like Sprite! (A tip I learned from a friend.)

Enjoying lunch alfresco at The Cafe.

My Mediterranean Platter-if only all meal portions were served like this!


Karl’s Roman Burger. The fries were so good because they were sprinkled with
garlic so I kept stealing them off his plate.

My favorite part of the villa, the Outer Peristyle.  It almost reminds me of the 
Reflection Pond in Washington D.C. What a great place to rest and reflect.

I could’ve sworn I saw Artie (Kevin McHale) from GLEE.  I kept staring at this guy who had an uncanny resemblance to him.  He even had glasses on.  I was dying to ask him…anyway I should’ve but I was too shy.  Ugh.


It was nice to get familiar with plants and trees that I’ve only heard about but never seen up close.










Sarcophagus with scenes from the life of Achilles.

I was throwing pennies into the water and making wishes when one of them bounce off into the mouth of the god who is unfortunately covered by my head here. 


“Wealth, the beauty of youth and flowers are guests for only a few days. Like the leaves of the water-lily, they wither and fade and finally die.” -Sri Guru Granth Sahib

The heat and humidity today made me want to go for a refreshing dip in the water.
The kids here are so lucky.  They are exposed to a bunch of cool and educational things at such an early age.


Air kissing Emperor Caligula.



My history teacher in high school loved to talk about Emperor Caligula.  He was always narrating stories about the emperor’s controversial life.  It’s because of those long lectures (which really tortured my short attention span by the way) that Emperor Caligula will forever be engraved in my brain.  According to various sources he was apparently insane, even appointing his horse as a consul and priest.  Imagine my delight when I found him here.  He’s not too bad looking, ey? 

Mummy of Herakleides.  A real Mummy!  They also explain the mummification process in an AV presentation.  He was about twenty years old when he died.
Aha! The origin of ballet flats.  This one’s made of leather and gold.


Where’s Waldo?
Can you see me?
There were a lot of beautiful things offered here–mostly jewelry and books.  Like other souvenir shops, majority of the items were overpriced.  
What a beautiful (and important!) lesson to take home.



At the end of the day I was able to relate to all my past history classes on the grandeur of ancient Greece and Rome in a more profound way.  Seeing the exhibits left me with a sense of awe and amazement.

Sigh.  










Leave a Reply

