An Open Letter to Our Dog

21 Jun

Dear Miles,

It amazes me to think that you’ve been in our lives for almost a year now.  We were lucky enough to witness your birth even before we realized you would be ours.  Your Daddy had been yearning for a dog for quite while, but little did he know how easy it would be to find you.  On the other hand, I wasn’t so sure.  You see, I thought a big dog in a small apartment might not work.  Well your Poppa proved me wrong.  Also, I’ve never really had a concept of a ‘real’ pet before moving here.  I may have grown up with lots of animals, many of whom were dogs like you, but the experience was nothing like what I’ve experienced with you.  And how could I forget the time I got bitten by my mom’s cousin’s dog in Manila?  I was being nice, giving  him Cheeze Curls when all of a sudden he lunged at my thigh.  That’s when my fear of dogs began.  Someway, somehow you’ve taken away that fear.  In fact, I let you chew and lick my hands and wrists whenever you want.
When you and your siblings were only a few months old, Poppa decided to visit and make his choice.  He said he wouldn’t be taking anyone home just yet but knowing him I had a feeling that he wouldn’t be able to resist.  Seeing you home that day didn’t surprise me at all.  You should’ve seen the pride and joy on your Poppa’s face when he introduced you to me.  He looked like he’d won his first Grammy.  Boy, you had the biggest paws we’d ever seen on a puppy!  I remember trying to stare deep into your eyes so that our souls could connect.  The puppy face you gave me was simply adorable and all the reservations I had about you melted away in an instant.  But that moment was cut short when I was trying to take your picture and you suddenly peed on our brand new carpet!  Oh no you didn’t…
There were times when I wanted to give up on you.  You were quite a handful especially during the first few months.  One day you made me cry so hard because I couldn’t control you and I thought you were trying to attack me.  Eventually I realized that you were playing with me and that it was also my fault because I was teasing you too much.  If it weren’t for your Poppa training me and forcing me to watch Cesar Millan’s techniques on the Dog Whisperer, I’d probably still see you as just a plain dog.  The truth is you are more than that now.  You are a magical being, a humanized dog who we love beyond words.
I just want to say thank you for being a big part of our lives.  Thank you for loving us unconditionally.  Thank you for entertaining us and making us laugh every day.  Thank you for comforting us when we’re sad or sick.  Thank you for being such a wonderful workout partner.  Thank you for being obedient and affectionate.
Most of all thank you for being you.  Happy 1st birthday!
Love,
Your Momma
Miles’s birthday portrait. He was named after Karl’s favorite jazz musician, Miles Davis. Because we were busy last Sunday, we surprised him with his birthday cake on Tuesday. The dog bakery was closed on Monday. Thanks to my luvey for picking it up for me. 🙂

Miles is getting impatient. Haha. I tasted the icing and it was really good! The cake is made of white flour, honey, canola oil, carob, vanilla, yogurt, and peanut butter.


Because he’s been so good to us, he deserves this delicious treat!   We were at Lake Arrowhead about two years ago where I saw a dog bakery.  I googled dog bakery and found Le Woof Dog Bakery in Yorba Linda.  I immediately fell in love with the design.  Just perfect for Miles!  I also loved how they customized it with his name.  Plus, the owner was very polite and took the time to talk to Karl about Miles when he picked up the cake.  It actually looks bigger in the picture than it does in real life.  I hope they’ll post Miles’s picture with his cake in their gallery.
LeWoof’s cute packaging.

 

    Miles and his proud Poppa.
TOP HIGHLIGHTS WITH MILES
1) While washing dishes, I heard a loud crash and thought the TV had fallen off the wall.  I turned around to see Miles’s embarrassed face. It took me a couple of seconds to realize that he had crashed into the sliding glass door trying to race to the balcony to catch a glimpse of his Poppa down below.  Hahaha.
2) The day we got him neutered and captured it on video.  We also kept the souvenir on our bookshelf. 😉  Although I was sad at the thought that he could no longer reproduce, the idea of the surgery prolonging his life compensated for it.
3) His first time at Huntington Dog Beach where he was able to socialize with other dogs off-leash.  He also learned how to swim.  Swimming is one of the labrador’s special skills.
4) Sniffing an older woman’s private part at the vet’s office and getting a candid reaction from her.  She said, “I haven’t had that in 30 years!”
5) Seeing my shower curtain move like in a horror movie; then seeing his face peeking through it.  Whew!  A sigh of relief sweeps over me.
6) Miles munching and destroying Karl’s Flip videocam, my Christmas gift to him last year. It was in a soft pouch and Miles thought it was a toy. 😦
7) Miles chewing my first pair of gray Havaianas which was barely a month old. 😦
8) Miles just being his mischievous self-too many to mention!
9) Miles making a fool out of me while I was getting the mail.  I dropped everything including his poopy bag in front of my neighbors.  Then he started sniffing another girl!  This time much younger.
10) Miles almost dragging me down the creek by our apartment.
11) Miles giving me my first doggie kiss.
12) Miles helping me with my sit-ups on the mat.

I’ll update as I think of some more…

Leave a Reply

