Toastmasters International Video Shoot

6 Jan


MAY 14-15, 2007
Rancho Santa Margarita City Hall
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA

Talk about a serendipitous episode in my life that I could dramatically say only God orchestrated.  I had forgotten to pick up my paycheck before leaving  the office on a Friday at my previous job at Spa Gregorie’s in Rancho Santa Margarita.  The next day when I dropped by to pick it up,  Hitomi,  a Japanese-American hairstylist at the  salon mentioned to me that  one of her  clients was looking for an Asian  person to audition for  a corporate  DVD project.  Her name was Beverly Wallace, the Corporate Relations Manager for Toastmasters International and also the Executive Producer for the DVD. I had caught her just in time, right when she was about to pay for her service and head out the door. Hitomi introduced us and Beverly handed me her business card and promised to email me with the audition information. Beverly had originally asked Hitomi to audition because looking at her, really, how Asian could you get? But Hitomi said she laughed it off and told Beverly that she was not into acting. One time while she was cutting my hair, I had happened to share with her that I was currently taking a short course in acting at Saddleback College.  That’s how Hitomi came to think of me for the job.

The reason why I was so thrilled to be exposed to this project was because the  Toastmasters organization had trained all of us contestants for the question and answer portion of Miss Cebu 2005. It seems so long ago now, 3 years has passed, but the lessons I learned about public speaking remains deeply rooted in me. I am especially fond of Toast master Richard Ramos who was most patient with us as a teacher and entertained us with his good humor. He invited me to one of their meetings once and I almost signed up as a member, but the driving distance from Plantation Bay to their meeting place and overtime work schedule made it impossible for me to join. So when I saw the Toastmasters logo on Beverly’s business card my jaw just dropped. To top that, when I went to audition, I realized I was inside the Toastmasters International headquarters which was a huge and stately building in Rancho Santa Margarita.

The shoot lasted for two whole days and I could honestly say that this was the most professional team I’ve ever worked with in my life in regards to any kind of T.V. production or filming that I’ve experienced. It was filmed by a group called N3 Productions. I was casted as the timer (nothing major but still better than not being cast at all) and was particularly grateful that they had asked me speak in my natural Filipino accent in keeping with their quest to showcase a multi-cultural cast. I met some interesting new people, a couple of whom had heard about the audition via this website and had driven all the way from L.A. All in all it was a lot of fun and the food they served during breaks was always good! Memories…

The DVD is now distributed with subtitles in 8 languages:
Arabic, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, German, Japanese and SpanishTo view a clip of the DVD, click here.  To learn more about the DVD, click here.

Leave a Reply

